Three inducted into Golf Hall of Fame

Annual Awards presented to volunteers and Outstanding Golfers of the Year.

(St. John’s, NL) This past weekend Golf Newfoundland & Labrador (Golf NL) held its Annual Awards and Hall of Fame inductions at Bally Haly Country Club in St. John’s. The highlight of the event was the induction of Bruce Emrie, Barry Stacey, and Ken Casey into the Provincial Golf Hall of Fame.

The Hall of Fame Class of 2023 welcomed Bruce Emrie, a PGA of Canada member, into the Builder category. Bruce grew up just outside Montreal, Quebec and started his golf career at the Summerlea Golf and Country Club. He was simply enthralled with the prospect of making a living from the game and a few years later Bruce had obtained his CPGA Golf Professional designation.

Bruce packed up his young family and came to Newfoundland in the early seventies and took the head professional job at Blomidon Golf Club in Corner Brook. In 1975, he was offered the same job at Bally Haly Golf Club in St. John’s. At that time both Bally Haly and Blomidon were the only official full 18-hole course layouts in Newfoundland.

During his tenure, Bruce Imrie helped organize many Provincial and National Golf Tournaments including the 1979 and 1989 Canadian Ladies Amateur. He was also heavily involved in the 1986 National Crown Life Pro-Am and the Bob Cole Classic Golf Tournaments hosted in the late 80’s and early 90’s.

Aside from helping organize these prestigious events, Bruce is known for the development of Junior Golf. The Bally Haly Junior Golf program exploded under his direction in the early 80’s, in part because he made it available to all junior aged players in the city, not just children of club members.

Barry Stacey was inducted as a Builder (Volunteer) in the 2023 Hall of Fame class. He was born in Lamaline before moving to Marystown where he completed his high school education. After graduating from Memorial University of Newfoundland, Barry was a teacher in Rushoon and Marystown for thirty years.

Barry was a founding member of Grande Meadows Golf Course in 1995. Since then, he has been – and continues to be – an invaluable volunteer at the course. Barry, along with Dave Brenton, started the Grande Meadows Tournament Committee and was an integral member of that committee for fifteen years.

Barry was instrumental in starting the Grande Meadows Invitational in 1998 and the annual Burin Peninsula Open Tournament in 2008. For both these tournaments Barry took care of registration, prizes, tee times, handicaps, and all stats. He continues to serve in this capacity for both these annual tournaments.

Barry has served on the Board of Directors at Grande Meadows for a total of seven years – and for the past couple of years, as Finance Director. He has attended several meetings of Golf Newfoundland Labrador and presently serves on the board as Membership Director. Over the years he has helped with many applications for various job projects. These projects have contributed greatly to the betterment of Grande Meadows.

Ken Casey was inducted into the Lifetime Achievement category. Ken began his golf journey as a young 12-year-old participating in junior program at Bally Haly Country Club in St. John’s NL. As he stated, “I couldn’t wait to get the club and play in the morning and spent every afternoon caddying for the senior members”.

In the late 80s, Ken was elected to serve on the golf committee and several years later was elected to the position of Golf Captain. In 1990, Ken assembled a group of volunteers to organize the Bally Haly Men’s Invitational (one of the largest in the province) and after 30 plus years continues to draw golfers from across the province. In 1994, he was elected as President of the Newfoundland Labrador Golf Association (NLGA).

In the fall of 2014, Ken was approached to serve on the Board of Directors of newly formed Golf Newfoundland & Labrador (Golf NL) as Treasurer. After a two-year term as Treasurer, Ken accepted the nomination of President and spent the next four years to direct the growth and development of the organization. During his tenure Ken was involved in several major initiatives including the development of s new provincial membership model that helped to financially stabilize the organization. To acknowledge Ken’s contribution to the golf community in 2021, he was the recipient of Golf Canada’s Bruce Mitchell, Volunteer of the Year Award for his achievements.

The 2023 Annual Awards were presented to Mike Brown of Tamarack Golf Club for Male Golfer of the Year, Janet Mills of Bally Haly Country Club for Female Golfer of the Year, Freya Snook of Bally Haly Country Club for Junior Female Golfer of the Year and Daniel Sharpe of Blomidon Golf Club for Junior Male Golfer of the Year.

Bally Haly Country Club President Paul Rose accepted the Golf Course of the Year award on behalf of Bally Haly Country Club, Joan Vautier was the recipient of the Referee of the Year Award and Richard Marche of Harmon Seaside Links was the recipient of the Employee of the Year award. Paige Allen of Blomidon Golf Club and Karsen Best of Bally Haly Country Club were presented with the 2023 Junior Male and Female Scholarship Awards.

President Shaane Nathu stated” that these individuals are an example of the commitment, dedication and passion that has served the golfing community well in this province and are very deserving individuals”. There were also Appreciation Awards presented to outgoing members of the Board of Directors including Ken Casey, Janine Fraser, Ed Roche, and Dean Sullivan for their contributions to the organization.

For more information contact Golf Newfoundland Labrador (Golf NL) at 709-631-3102 or e-mail


2023 Golf NL Hall of Fame Inductees: Ken Casey, Bruce Imrie, Barry Stacey (Left to Right)