Newell and Davis Lead at 2023 Royal LePage Provincial Amateur Championships

Labrador City, NL…. A total of 70 golfers from across province have converged on Tamarack Golf Club in Labrador City to compete in the 2023 Royal LePage Provincial Amateur Championships from July 20th to 23rd for the right to represent the province at the National Championships.

Under ideal golfing weather with superb course conditions, the first round of the championship saw some impressive scoring at Tamarack Golf Club. Teren Newell of River Hills Golf Club in Halifax and local member Michael Jones carded an even par 72 to record the low score of the day and sit atop of the leaderboard in the Men’s Amateur. Ryan Holwell of Bally Haly Country Club and Mitch Normore of Tamarack are T3 with a 2 over par 74, five other players are within 5 strokes of the lead heading into day 2.

Jones also leads the Mens Mid Amateur Division followed by follow club member Mitch Normore with Nikashantess Penashue scoring a 76 to hold down third place. There are 4 other players in the field who are just 4 strokes of the pace. In the Senior Men’s Division, two members of Tamarack Golf Club, Nolan Norman and Dennis Langdon are T1 carding a 5 over par 77 with Eric Penney and Mike Brown T3 just 1 stroke behind the co-leaders.

In the Mens Super Senior Division which is a 36-hole competition, Mike Brown of Tamarack leads the 13-player field carding a 78 with George Chaulk of Harmon Seaside Links holding down second position and just 1 stroke behind the leader. Bruce Adam of Tamarack and Gary Smith of Grande Meadows are T3 with a score of 84.

In the Women’s Amateur and Mid-Amateur Divisions Kanani Davis of Amaruk Golf Club carded an 84 and holds a secure 14 stroke lead over Marie Soliel-Penashue while Robyn Edwards of Tamarack holds down third place carding a one-day total of 115.

Inez Thorne of Tamarack Golf Club holds the lead in the Senior and Super Senior Divisions with two time and defending championship Janet Mills of Bally Haly Country Club jsut 1 stroke behind Thorne. Debbie Hawes of Tamarack holds three positions in the Senior Division while Grace While is in third place in the Super Senior with a score of 100. The Super Senior is a 36-hole competition with the winner declared at the conclusion of round 2.

Some of the highlights include a hole in one by Inzie Thorne of Tamarack Golf Club while playing with Janet Mills while Ryan MacNeil-Lamswood, and Mitch Normore each recorded three birdies. Round 2 goes on Saturday morning beginning at 9:00 A.M. Full results and the draw for Day 2 can be found on the following link: