Humber Valley Resort Hosts Final Tely Tour Events of 2023

Humber Valley,, NL…The final events of the 2023 Tely Junior Tour were held at Humber Valley Resort this past weekend. Activities included the Skills Challenge, Humber Valley Junior Invitational and the presentation of the annual Order of Merit awards.

The Junior Skills Challenge focuses on developing the key golf skills of putting, chipping and driving. The objective of the program is to develop key golf skills, while serving as an important introduction to competition. The Skills Challenge took place on Saturday August 26th with 30 competitors from across the province competing in five age divisions. 

In the Boys 15 to 18 Division Daniel Sharpe of Blomidon Golf Club recorded a score 270 to take the Division with Declan Flynn of Glendenning Golf capturing his second consecutive title in the Boys 2 to 14 division with a total of 290. Dante Pennell of Blomidon Golf Club recorded 190 points to also win his second consecutive the Boys 9 to 11 Division.

Paige Allen of Blomidon Golf Club recorded 295 points to secure the 15 to 18 Girls Division title with Mila Snook of Bally Haly Country Club winning the Girls 12 to 14 Division recording a score of 235. Adelyn Kelly recorded a score of 185 to capture the Girls 9 to 11 age group

Due to inclement weather and course conditions, the final competition had to be cut short with players competing in a stipulated 9 hole round. Despite the shortened competition there was plenty of excitement and a number of players were not only vying for the event championship but also in the running for the overall divisional crown for the season.

Sam Fisher of Bally Haly Country Club Club captured the Junior Boys Division title recorded a 36 and a two stroke win over Phillip Snow of Glendenning Golf while Daniel Sharpe of Blomiodn Golf Club carded a 39 to secure third place.

Mila Snook of Bally Haly Country Club won her 2nd event of the season carding a 36 to secure the Junior Division title. With twin sister Freya capturing second with a score of 38. Paige Allen of Blomidon Golf Club took third place with a score of 46. 

In the Juvenile Boys Division Declan Flynn of Glendenning Golf captured the divional title with a score of 41 with Keegan Pender of Piuppy Park and Lucna Meade of Bally Haly T2 with a score of 42. Keegan took second place utilizing the process of retrogression.

In the Bantam Boys Division, Griffen Abbott won his 4th divisional title of the season recording a 45 to win the division title and an 11 stroke win over Nathan Reneouf of BlomidonGolf Club with Dante Pennell took third place with a score of 63. In the Bantam Girls Division, Sarah Peyton of Humber River Golf Club carded a w53 to win the division with fellow club member Reese Coles securing second place..

With the conclusion of the 2023 season, the annual awards were presented in a variety of categories. The West Coast Swing donated by Charles Earle and presented to a top preformer during the west coast events was awarded to Keegan Pender of Pippy Park Golf Club. The Hutchinson Trophy presented to a junior female that showed marked improvement was presented to Sarah Hayes of Blomidon Golf Club.

The Charlie & Una Cooke Award for Most Improved Female was awarded to Rosie Allen of Blomidon Golf Club with The Telegram Award for Most Improved Male was Keegan Pender of Pippy Park Golf Club.

In the overall divisional championships the Thompson Bowl for top Bantam Girl was Sarah Peyton, The Watson Bowl for the top Bantam Boy was presented to Griffen Abbott, with The Arye Bowl for the top Juvenile Boy presented by Declan Flynn. The Junior Girls Champion was presented to Mila Snook, and The Junior Boys Champion presented to Sam Fisher.

At the closing awards luncheon, Golf NL thanked the host course, staff and management, the volunteers, title sponsor The Telegram and contributing partners, RMS, Browning Harvey and Taylormade for their support of junior golf and the Tely Junior Tour. 

In the OOM Photo L-R: Sarah Hayes, Rosie Allen, Keegan Pender, Sarah Peyton, Griffon Abbott, Declan Flynn, Mila Snook, Sam Fisher