Golf NL host Annual Meeting – Hall of Fame & Awards Dinner

St. John’s, NL….. On the weekend of Novemebr 24th and 25th,   Golf Newfoundland Labrador (Golf NL), held its Annual General Meeting, workshop sessions and Hall of Fame and Awards Dinner at Bally Haly Country Club. The Annual Meeting included the tabling of annual reports, the financial report for the fiscal year ending September 30th, 2017 and the election of officers for the coming year.

President, Ken Casey welcomed new members to the Board including Secretary Len Woodford; Competitions Director Wayne Allen; and Treasurer Chris Young; Returning Directors include: Vice President Rex Anthony; Rules Director Jim Sloan; Junior Director Jamie Moran; Membership Director Callum Tulloch; and Course Rating Director Sandra Sparrow.

A number of workshops were held which included a presentation on the 2017 Tely Tour, and an outline of programs and services of Sport NL by Executive Director Troy Croft, Rules Director, Jim Sloan a discussed the proposed revisions to the Rules of Golf beginning in 2019 and the introduction of a World handicap System in 2020.. Atlantic Regional Director for Golf Canada Jeff Hutt provided an overview of the new National Member Benefits program.

The highlight of the weekend was the 2017 Hall of Fame & Awards Dinner held at Bally Haly. Annual awards were presented to Mike Furlong of Bally Haly Country Club for Male Golfer of the Year, Judy Gillam of Humber Valley Resort received the Female Golfer of the Year, Taylor Cormier of Blomidon Golf Club was awarded the Junior Female Golfer of the Year while Andrew Bruce of Humber Valley resort received the Junior Male Golfer of the Year award.

Tamarack Golf Course employee Sally Snow was presented with the Employee of the Year Award and Dennis Langdon accepted the award for Golf Course of the Year presented to Tamarack Golf Course in Labrador City. Bally Haly Country Club’s Golf Captain Danny O’Neill was the recipient of the Volunteer of the Year and Jim Sloan received the inaugural Official of the Year award

This year, Golf NL’s Hall of Fame Committee accepted, three individuals into the Class of 2017 Golf Hall of Fame. Golf Canada Governor and rules official Catherine (Kay) Thompson was inducted into the Contributor (Volunteer) category for her years of service in officiating and participation on the national level. Kathleen Jean of Harmon Seaside Links was inducted in the Athlete category for her major achievements in Provincial, Atlantic and National Championship competitions. Gerry Boland, also of Harmon Seaside Links was inducted in the Athlete/Builder category. Gerry was involved in the operation and development of Harmon Seaside Links and represented the provincial at numerous national championships.

President Ken Casey stated “that these individuals are an example of the commitment, dedication and passion that has served the golfing community well in this province, and are very deserving individuals”. There were also Appreciation Awards presented to outgoing members of the Board of Directors including Adam Stanley, Eddie Bearns and Steve Wedgwood who were acknowledged for their contribution to the organization.

A number of sponsors were acknowledged for their support of the Golf NL including The Telegram, Wedgwood Insurance and Jackson Triggs. Emcee for the evening, Robin Short, was presented with a small token of appreciation for participating in the function.

For more information contact Golf Newfoundland Labrador (Golf NL) at 709-631-3102 or e-mail

Scroll to top